Text Size: +/-

Treaty 4 Acknowledgement


The Archdiocese of Regina is located on Treaty 4 Territory, the traditional lands of the Nêhiyawak, Nahkawé, and Nakota, and homeland of the Dakota, Lakota, and Métis peoples.


Please note that we are using the language of the First Nations People rather than the English names they were given:  

  • "Cree" = Nêhiyawak (pronounced "neh HEY o wuk")

  • "Saulteaux" = Nahkawé (pronounced "NUK ah way")

Dakota and Lakota peoples did not sign treaties the way the others did so they are included with the homeland of the Métis in recognition statements.



Office of the Treaty Commissioner - click here